The Power of Women.

I want to start out by saying that I’m not the typical woman who likes to bake, cook and clean while planning out her future wedding on 4 different pinterest boards. Yes, I like to bake, cook and eat; yes I have a Pinterest for organizing recipes, and yes I do get a sense of pride when my room is clean and organized. If you think that feminists can’t like doing domestic things, you’re mistaken; baking and believing in women’s rights are not mutually exclusive. Choosing to change who I am to fit into a certain mold would be counter product. I was raised by strong women figures in my life who taught me that I never need a man to save me from any situation, I am plenty capable of saving myself. Literally. My mom made me do karate so that someday if I ever needed to, I could save myself a dangerous situation.

I dream of a time when qualified men and women are payed equally for the same job. I dream of the day when the United States has a woman president! I want women all over the world to feel empowered in their education and truly believe that they can do anything they set their minds to.

One of my best friends is a female engineering major. In so many of her classes she is the only woman.Only 14.2% of the top five leadership positions at the companies in the S&P 500 are held by women. Out of a study done with 500 companies, only 24 had female CEOs. This gender gap is shocking to me. Why is this?

Companies with a high representation of women board members significantly outperformed those with no female directors, according to a 2011 Catalyst analysis of financial results at Fortune 500 companies.

I don’t let reading statistics like these get me down (although sometimes it can be pretty difficult). I see these numbers as an opportunity. I want to change the statistics; I want to become part of the percentages. Someday, I hope to be one of the those female CEOs. I want to look at the percentages and think, I’m helping to change them; I’m contributing to the rise of women in leadership positions.

In the meantime, whether you are a woman or a man, know your own strength, worth, and don’t let the numbers discourage you from becoming who you want to be.

 

Leave a Reply

