Breakfast of Champions

Like really, it takes a champion to finish this meal.

IMG_7698

A few weeks ago while visiting Seattle, I went out to brunch with a three of my gal pals. We ate at Portage Bay Cafe because we heard about their “french toast buffet” and boy oh boy, did it live up to expectations! Basically, you order french toast from their menu and it comes to you on a plate in its basic, most plain form.

IMG_7690

Then, you take your plate over to your buffet and load up your french toast with as many toppings as you can fit. Their only rule: you have to eat whatever you take (to-go boxes are acceptable).  Topping choices are canned peaches, fresh blueberries, blackberries and strawberries; shredded coconut, syrup, brown sugar, almonds, raisins and freshly whipped cream. My only request would’ve been to see more fresh fruits options, like raspberries, available in the buffet.

My delicious french toast plate was the one on the bottom left (with extra whipped cream) and it was so much food that I ended up saving my leftovers for dessert the same day. I would absolutely recommend Portage Bay Cafe, but highly suggest making a reservation because they are very popular.

OVERALL: 4 out 5 stars. I know I probably sound really picky, but I would’ve loved to see more fresh fruit options in the buffet. Other than that, it was a fantastic brunch.

Leave a Reply

