Post Grad Life – Refresh & Reinvent.

We’ve survived graduation season. If you’re like me, it’s possible that you’ve just graduated from something – middle school, high school, college, grad school… Maybe you just bought a house or had a baby. Maybe you’re starting a new job. Whatever it is, let me be the millionth person to tell you, congratulations!

Also if you’re anything like me, hearing that simple phrase, congratulations, can begin to spark a flicker of anxiety inside of you. Change is exciting, but it’s scary. If you’re graduating college, like I am, even the old family friend asking what your life plans are can derail your coolness into a spiral of worry and anxiety. The only thing to do is break things into bite size pieces and take them one at a time. So, that’s exactly what I’m going to share with you! My list for how I plan to reinvent my post-grad life, one step at a time.

Change is terrifying. But, it’s also an opportunity to step back and re-evaluate your life. Remember that new years resolution you set 6 months ago? How is that coming?

These big life milestones are great times to set reality next to the dream you envisioned for yourself a long time ago and see if the two have anything in common. Upon revisiting my dreams for who I thought I would be as a college graduate, I’ve come up with the following bite-sized ways to help me tackle this change while keeping my dream alive.

Step 1: Keep the creativity alive!

Have you ever wanted to write a short book? Or maybe even a short story? What about writing down precious memories from college that you hold near and dear to your heart? Now is the time! Write those babies down.

Step 2: DO ART!

Whatever form that takes for you. Food can be art. Arranging flowers is art. Doodling, art. If you aren’t artistic at all and this sounds like torture, pour yourself a glass of wine and pull up a youtube video of Bob Ross teaching painting. If you are inspired to put brush to paper and follow his instruction, great! Even just watching him create art is inspirational to me; gets my creative juices flowing.

Whatever form that takes for you. Food can be art. Arranging flowers is art. Doodling – art. If you aren’t artistic at all and this sounds like torture, pour yourself a glass of wine and pull up a youtube video of Bob Ross teaching painting. If you are inspired to put brush to paper and follow his instruction, great! Even just watching him create art is inspirational to me; gets my creative juices flowing.

Step 3: Read.

Books make even the smallest world larger and open even the most closed of minds. Below are a few on my summer read list. I just finished The Dry last week and it was good! It was a mystery set in Australia, I would give it 4/5 stars.

Step 4: Change your look.

Have you ever wanted to cut off all your hair? Or maybe dye it a different color? This step could be as simple as buying some new lipstick in a color you never thought you’d wear. For me, I know that my look changes in summer as I get tan. I’ve also ordered some fun new lip mattes in wacky colors that I usually wouldn’t try. Treat yourself! Plan to spend a little graduation money on refreshing the old wardrobe.

Step 5: Work out!

Endorphins! Endorphins are amazing. At the start of summer, I took a week of getting no physical exercise whatsoever. I thought the break would feel good, but to be honest, my body felt awful. It craved some form of exercise and when I didn’t get it, I began to have negative thoughts about body image and felt restless and unsatisfied. Getting just 30 mins a day makes me feel so much better. Below are the links to some of my fav workout videos on youtube.

Step 6: Time to Take Up a New Hobbie

You know that wildflower identification your mom bought you years ago? It might be time to whip that baby out and start spotting some wildflowers on your hikes. Maybe you’ve always wanted to take up photography and start taking pictures of those wildflowers! Maybe you’ve always wanted to try tennis or golf. Whatever it may be, try a few activities that are outside of your comfort zone and see what sticks.

Step 7: Craft or Create

Have you pinned cute craft ideas, but never had time to actually sit down and make them? Now is the time, my friend. You could make a memorable photo collage celebrating your years of college or take up planting succulents in pots. Succulents are so trendy right now.

What other suggestions do you guys have for fun summer activities? Comment below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

